Racing in the SPRING in Alabama! 2014 TGPR Time Trial









Beautiful weather and a great event conducted by the SCCA Tennessee Valley Region and Alabama Region! Thanks to staff and workers who made the race weekend possible!  We had many new cars out including the Beacham’s Ariel Atom, many students getting their full SCCA Time Trial license through the TGPR School classroom sessions and many guys we haven’t seen in a while ; guys like Ken Owen’s in his yellow TR6 and  Ron Richey in his freshly rebuilt Karmann Ghia.  Also, congrats to our group of PDX drivers and their volunteer instructors… well done.  One of our drivers was visiting from Seattle… we are told Eeshan Kumar  may give up skydiving and move to the Carolinas for a more enjoyable adrenalin rush with SCCA! Johnny Valencia and Scott Sipler drove 4 hours down just to get to run the sessions on Sunday and BOTH said the trip was worth it. 

Great fellowship and racing at track side and dinners in town! We are all looking forward to coming back to TGPR this fall. A few interesting notes from the weekend : 

BSP – Scott Sipler set new track record.  Rod Hardiman also beat old track record and set PB  (PERSONAL BEST)

CSP – Bryon Evans David Carroll and Tim Olsen set PB 

F500 – Steven Bugg set PB

FV – Mark Rothermel set PB and missed track record  by 0.050 

ITA – Richard Pannell set track record 

SRF – Bruce Funderburg set Track Record

SPU – Jack Beachem set Track Record

SU – Leon Drake and SooZee Merrill set PB


We also wish Jack Beacham continued success as he campaigns his Ariel Atom at the One Lap of America! We will be pulling for you. The way you drove this weekend, the hardest part about winning One Lap will be the drives from track to track. Go get ’em!

Thanks to all who came, helped, instructed and ran. We look forward to seeing you all at Road Atlanta May 17-18 for the next event in the 2014 SCCA Time Trial Championship Series! 

Times can be found HERE


SCCA TGPR Time Trial – Great Racing in Alabama

Article By:  Craig Farr, Event Chairman

 Tennessee Valley and Alabama Regions combined to put on their Annual Time Trials Track Trials event and School at Talladega Grand Prix Raceway in Munford, AL on April 14-15, 2012.  Simply put, WHAT A FANTASTIC WEEKEND!

First, we had 59 TT drivers which is the best ever at TGPR and the highest TT driver count of any SEDIV championship event in the last 6 years (or at least as far back as I have records).  There were a few others who were there but could not get their cars out on track or the number would have been higher.

Second, we had 15 TT Students which is another high water mark for the TT School.  There were even a few more potential TT Students who could not finish their car preparations in time.

Third, we had a full group of PDX drivers each day which is another significant increase.  One of the inducements was for a driver to work a day and get a PDX day for the low fee of $100.

Fourth, Racer Parts Wholesale was our sponsor and provided tire gauges, shirts, decals, gift certificates and other goodies to the workers and participants.  The RPW support was definitely appreciated.

I could mention the weather which featured lows in the 50’s, highs in the 80’s and enough cloud cover to make everyone feel just great.  I could also mention the 11 new TGPR TT Track records that were set by Clint McMahan (F600), Steve Conrad (FF), Dave Cutchins (FS), Mike Chandler (FV), Robby Boyett (GTA), Butch Kummer (GT1), Joe Armstrong (ITO), Bobby Bitterman (ITR), Joe Clayburn (Spec Miata), Michael Garoust (SSP), and Leon Drake (SU).  Everyone had the opportunity for over 2 hours of on track time.  Even the workers had 30 minute lap sessions at the end of each day with the drivers manning the corner stations.

A new feature and a highlight of the weekend was the Run-off Roulette that we ran on Sunday.  The drivers were grouped by car type/speed and each got a warm-up lap and 4 hot laps to record a time.  This was a bracket competition where the First, Second and Third Place winners were those who recorded a time that was closest (+/-) to their previous best time on track.  Each of the 23 drivers entered by throwing $10 into the Prize Pot and the event sweetened that pot some more.  The winner was John Waight at a scant margin of 0.012 seconds off his best time.  That is no more than a sneeze.  Bryon Webb (0.199) and Richard Pannell (0.420) were close behind him to capture their share of the pot.

There were many people who put in a lot of time to make this event a success.  Without the weekend workers and the people who did the pre-event work, we would not have had a success.  Without trying to name everyone (and apologies to those I forget), I have to thank Eden Powell, Steve Conrad, Rich Crowell, Mark Rothermel, Ricky Ragan, John Waight, Sara and Chaistit Tongsuvone, Mark Kilgore, George Bugg, Jim & Diane Eckert, Chuck and Suzette Schultz, Clyde Bales, Spike Pannell and many others.  Ted Theodore could not get his Special running in time so he brings his CSP Miata and IT7 cars so 3 drivers could compete.  Ted also provided special gifts for the workers.  Jim Eckert did sound on both sides of the track so the drivers could see how they would fare against the stricter Atlanta Motorsports Park sound restrictions.  Then there are the many drivers who made the trek to middle Alabama for the event.  Without both the drivers and the workers, there could not be an event.  THANX DRIVERS AND WORKERS

What a way to start the 2012 SEDIV Time Trials Championship season!